Protected Areas

South Downs National Park and Planning
Information covering the issues relating to Planning and the South Downs National Park
Conservation Areas
There are 35 Conservation Areas in the Lewes District covering an area of 493 ha. A large part of the Town of Lewes is a Conservation Area.
Conservation Area Planning Controls
Properties within Conservation Areas are subject to special planning controls to help preserve the character and beauty of an area when development is proposed.
Advertisements in Conservation Areas and Listed Buildings
Where permission is required for signage or advertisements it is important that the design, materials, colour and positioning are appropriate in relation to the building and area.
Conservation Area Appraisals
Lewes District Council is undertaking a review of the 35 Conservation Areas in the District in line with guidance from English Heritage.
Article 4 directions
Alterations normally permitted are not always allowed in Conservation Areas as we look to retain the area's heritage through Article 4 Direction.
Extensive Urban Surveys
Archaeological, historical, and historic urban character assessments for Ditchling, Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven and Seaford.